Founded 1915

Co. Tipperary

Club History

Kiladangan GAA club was formed at a meeting in Puckane school on Thursday 18th November 1915. Before the founding of the Kiladangan club, various teams in the parish competed in the various championships in North Tipperary – Senior, Intermediate and Junior under various guises, namely Kiladangan , Ballycommon, Carney, Knigh and Lahorna.

The attendance was divided on the name for the new club: some favoured Carney, others wanted Ballycommon, a few wished to revive the old name, Knigh. Finally the name, Kiladangan, was suggested and it was agreed on. The club affiliated a junior team the following season and had its first championship outing against Silvermines.

In 1930, Kiladangan and Kilbarron combined to win the intermediate championship, the amalgamation competed at senior level then until they won the senior championship in 1934. From then Kiladangan went on their own competing at senior level from 1935 to 1965 inclusive.

In 1966, they went down to intermediate again before swiftly returning to the senior ranks in 1967. However, a return to intermediate ranks in 1968 before amalgamating with Burgess to form Na Piarsaigh and compete in the senior ranks in 1970.

Kiladangan competed on their own in the senior ranks once again in 1972 before returning to the intermediate ranks again in 1976 where they remained, except for 1996 when they competed in the junior championship, until 2005.

The return to the senior ranks in 2005 was preceded by capturing the county intermediate title, Munster intermediate cup and the all-Ireland intermediate cup  beating carrickshock of Kilkenny in a dramatic final in Thurles.

The club confirmed the return to top tier by capturing the clubs first North Senior title in 65 years in 2008.

Note: A more detailed overview of the club's history can be seen in the clubs history book.

Over the years, many players from the club have represented Tipperary at various grades and the following is a list of players that have won All- Ireland medals in the blue and gold: 

Senior Hurling

Martin Kennedy - 1925, 1930 *

Jimmy Kennedy - 1949, 1950, 1951**

Billy McLoughney - 1961

Seamus Hogan - 1971

Darragh Egan - 2010

Willie Connors - 2019

Alan Flynn - 2019

David Sweeney - 2019

Barry Hogan - 2019

*Martin also collected 6 railway cup medals in 1928, 1929, 1930, 1931, 1934 and 1935 and was selected at full forward on the Tipperary team of the millennium.

**Jimmy also won a railway cup medal in 1950

Intermediate Hurling

Jim Egan - 1972

John D’Arcy - 1972

Nicky Flannery - 1972

Paddy Kelly - 1972

Ollie Killeen - 1972

Terry Moloney - 1972

William Moloney - 1972

Noel Seymour - 1972

Dan Hackett - 2000

Joe Gallagher - 2012

Martin Minehan - 2012, 2013

Darragh Egan - 2013

Ruairi Gleeson - 2013 

Junior Hurling

Eamonn Kelly - 1989, 1991

Donal Flannery - 1989

Colm Egan - 1989 

Under 21 Hurling

Seamus Hogan - 1967

Colm Egan - 1989

Eamonn Kelly - 1989

Brian Flannery - 1995

Joe Gallagher - 2010 

Barry Hogan - 2018

Billy Seymour - 2018, 2019

Sean Hayes - 2019

Minor Hurling

Neddy McLoughney - 1952

Joe Gallagher - 2007

Tadhg Gallagher - 2012

Jack Loughnane – 2012

Barry Hogan - 2016

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play